The 17the Heineken Catamaran Regatta ends with the expected win of Booth/Nieuwenhuis for the big cats

Steady winning performances throughout the week produced no surprises during the farewell awards dinner of the Heineken Catamaran Regatta 2006 at the Moomba Beach Bar and Restaurant. The team of Mitch Booth and Pim Nieuwenhuis may not have taken first place in the last race amongst the fleet of thirty-five big catamarans; but they accomplished to keep their first place due to a winning performance through the entire week.

Winners of the last race, Pols and Veenstra, from Holland, did not place in the first five overall, but still went home with medals and tee shirts for taking the final heat. As did the one big surprise of the final day, the very young winners of the tenth race of the small boats, Xander Pols and Tjiddo Veenstra. They won over a field of nine, but the over-all first place trophy and a return ticket to Aruba went to the team of Mark Rijks and Brenda Liefhebber.

Regatta organizer Edwin Lodder conducted the awards ceremony assisted by his wife and Heineken General Manager in Aruba, Patrick Melchior. Edwin also took the time to thank the many people that worked with him to make this the most successful regatta yet, with forty-seven boats competing. Sailors from The Netherlands, France, England, Belgium, Austria, and Sweden traveled to Aruba for what he described as "record-breaking attendance and excellent winds." They were joined in the competitions by four boats from Aruba. Individuals receiving particular mention for their efforts in making this year such a success were Almayra Boekhoudt and Sophie of the Aruba Tourism Authority, and a plaque of gratitude was awarded to Mundo of the ATA for the many years that he has been assisting in bringing the regatta to Aruba.

The final results and winners in the big boats category were First Place, Mitch Booth and Pim Nieuwenhuis; Second Place, Stuart Gummer and Hannah Burke, and in Third Place, the husband and wife team of James and Gillian Power.

Small boat winners were Rijks and Liefhebber for First Place, Van Gorp and Van Gisbergen for Second and the team of Tomasch and Hankart in Third Place.

Edwin Lodder also offered thanks to the many sponsors that produced another memorable regatta. These include Hapag Lloyd, TNG Swiss Watches, KLM, Holiday Inn, Does and Cadushi, Yamaha, SETAR, N.V., Switzerleven, Patria, Young Improvement, Magic Marine, Tropical Bottling, Atlantis Submarine, Anthony Veder & Co., Aruba Watersports Center, Aruba Aloe, Moomba Beach, Kodak, De Palm Tours and Pelican Watersports.

Congratulations to the winners, their prizes guarantees they will be back to compete next year!